Fire Chief Greg Brown

Welcome to the Eureka Fire Protection District Web Site. This web site is your invitation to review the history, accomplishments, equipment, current events, and personnel of our district.

Our personnel and district have garnered acclaim and prestigious local, state, national, and international awards. We continue to provide state of the art customer service with emphasis on education, prevention and mitigation of all types of hazards.

Our mission statement gives us the insight and planning commitment to continually move forward and excel into the new century. The citizens we serve have provided a level of support that is unmatched and their confidence is our greatest reward.

Whether providing an educational opportunity at a local elementary school, responding to a medical emergency, assisting a citizen with a broken water pipe, or deploying as part of a FEMA Urban Search and Rescue Task Force to a national disaster, the Eureka Fire Protection District will always provide the best possible service for whatever the need.

Please take a moment to view our website, and see what I am so very proud of; our personnel, equipment, and activities. If you would like to comment please feel free to contact us.


Command Staff


Assistant Chief Donald Tomnitz
Operations / Training
Deputy Chief Richard Pallarito
Fire Marshal
Deputy Chief Brad Dickinson


Office Staff

Onda Viefhaus
Office Manager
Krista Laudano
Administrative Assistant
Mike Stocker
Fire Inspector
 Harriett Vaucher

No Picture


Community Service/PIO
Scott Barthelmass



Former Chiefs


George H. Manetzke, Jr
Jan. 1971 - Nov. 1971

George_Manetzke_small1.jpgFirst paid Fire Chief of the Eureka Fire Protection District. George, Jr. was formally Chief of the Eureka Volunteer Fire Department having been elected to the position, by members of the department,  in December of 1960. He was appointed as Fire Chief of the newly formed district in April of 1970 and became the first paid employee of the district on January 1, 1971. He was killed in the line of duty on November 11, 1971 at the scene of a propane truck fire and explosion.

Nick A. Sacco
1971 - 1978

Nick_Sacco_small1.jpgAppointed Fire Chief after Chief George Manetzke was tragically killed in the line of duty November 11, 1971. Chief Sacco was instrumental in starting the Emergency Medical Service (EMS) for the District.


Joseph P. Trower
1978 - 1984

Joe_Trower_small1.jpgActing Chief for a year and then appointed Chief in 1979. Chief Trower is a lifelong area resident and was one of the first three employees hired by the Fire Protection District. He served the district as a Battalion Chief after that until his retirement in March of 2016.


Kevin Rucker
1984 - 1991

Kevin_Rucker_small1.jpgAppointed Chief in 1984. Worked to pass our first bond issue which added a second station and replaced station 1. A new pumper and tanker were also added, as well as increasing the number of paid firefighters.


Michael G. McMurray

Mike_McMurray_small1.jpgFormer Fire Marshal / Assistant Chief appointed Fire Chief in March 1991. His first fire call as Chief was a conflagration wildland fire with multiple sites within the District. Chief McMurray retired as Chief Fire Marshal in August of 2004.